Parker County Included in Federal Disaster Declaration

July 13, 2007

Weatherford Democrat

Special to the Democrat

Parker County Judge Mark Riley has been notified by state officials that Parker County has been included in a Federal Disaster Declaration, in regards to the recent flooding event.

State Disaster Recovery officials along with Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) officials moved into Parker County Wednesday to set up offices and begin assisting those individuals in the Horseshoe Bend and Rio Brazos areas affected by the floods.

“I want to thank Senators John Cornyn, Kay Bailey Hutchison and Congresswoman Kay Granger for the active roles they played in urging President Bush to include Parker County in the federal disaster declaration, it helped tremendously and we are grateful” Riley said. “I also want to thank State Representative Phil King and State Senator Craig Estes for their assistance. This declaration will be a tremendous help for those Parker County residents along the Brazos River affected by this flooding event.”

Both Cornyn and Granger said they were pleased to hear the news and said they would continue to work in assisting Parker County.

“There is still a lot of work remaining to help Texas communities recover from the flooding in recent weeks. This week’s update to the disaster declaration will provide Parker County and other parts of the state much needed relief,” Cornyn said. “I’ll continue working with the Texas Congressional delegation and Parker County officials to press for further federal funding and cut bureaucratic red tape, ensuring assistance will be delivered in a timely manner.”

Granger said she wished the best to those affected.

“I’m pleased that the Administration made the decision to include Parker County in the Federal Disaster Declaration and am proud to have played a role in having the assistance granted,” Granger said. “As the recovery effort continues, I will do all I can to assure that the individuals who have been directly affected receive the help they need to get back on their feet.”

The Federal Stafford Act makes Texans in counties declared a federal disaster whose homes and property were damaged or destroyed by the floods, eligible to receive individual assistance.

Individual Assistance programs, which helps individuals and families who are not covered by insurance, includes financial assistance, temporary housing, tax relief, legal services, crisis counseling and Disaster Unemployment Assistance.

FEMA has set up a tele-registration line at (800) 621-3362 for individuals in need of assistance to call. FEMA will also be in the affected areas placing flyers on the doors of homes with their contact information and is looking to set up a Disaster Recovery Center in Parker County.